Friday Links

desert-links

 

This was a busy week for Raised by Design! Our bathroom renovation was featured on Apartment Therapy this week and I couldn’t be more thrilled! I’ve been a long-time fan and reader of AT, so to become a part of their design community is really flattering and an exciting step for Raised by Design.

The post incited a pretty heated discussion about our choice to nix the vintage pink and black tile in favor of a more modern, neutral palette. It’s an interesting issue in design and I’m happy that it’s being discussed. I can’t say it was a hard decision for us in this particular renovation, given the big problems with the old layout and the fact that we needed a highly functional, hard working space to act as our only bathroom in the house for years to come. But I’ve made many much more difficult decisions in past projects when it comes to making ‘The Call’ – is it worth saving or is it time to let go and start anew? 

As a history major, the daughter of a historic preservationist and an avid vintage collector, and a real live citizen with the same aspirations of home ownership as anyone else (stay under budget, protect my investment and above all, love my living space) the debate about when to salvage the old and when to embrace the new is a familiar one.  

I’ve always loved to see a combination of old and new in design, living together happily in the melting pot of progress. That’s what this blog is all about at it’s core – marrying the influence of yesterday’s designs with the trends of today. Raising your Design aesthetic with firm roots and a taste for the modern.  

In this case, the pink tile lives on at Lil’ Spot only in memory, but there are many other nods to the past that we’ve hung onto in our renovations. Most importantly, we’ve preserved the original structure and modest footprint of our kit-built home in a time when people are buying old homes to knock them down and max out their investment. In an area with some of the highest property values in the country, we’ve opted to fit our lives into the existing tiny single level structure now dwarfed by our neighbors’ rebuilt two-story, two-family homes. That’s a choice that I feel good about.

Zip doo-dah. Here are this week’s links!

  • I stumbled across the work of Roberta Neidigh the other day and was completely taken with her series Property Line – I wish I were independently wealthy both in cash and wall space and could own the whole collection.  
  • We opted to find out the gender of our brewing kiddo (a boy!) and this photo series hits all of my nervousness about finding out right on the (Barbie) head. 
  • I’ve finally started working on designing my business cards – probably the first step you’re supposed to take when you start your own business. I’m using Moo, but here is a list of the 5 best places to order your own that I found helpful. 
  • Studying logo design 101 this week, too. I love the logo that I designed for Raised by Design (a lot!), but it doesn’t have the “B” in “RBD” which bugs the crap out of me. Redesigning is harder than you’d think though…
  • So hot right now…colored translucent furniture! 

Ta-ta! Loveyoubye,

Maggie

Whaddya think?

